2021 Investiture

Dartmouth Engineering Investiture took place on Saturday, June 12 on Memorial Field. The keynote speaker was former US Secretary of Energy, Ernest J. Moniz.

Dartmouth Commencement took place the following morning on Sunday, June 13, also on Memorial Field. To watch a video of Dartmouth Commencement visit the Virtual Viewing & Engagement page.

Livestream Recording

Investiture Program


Faculty Marshal: Lee R. Lynd Th'84 Th'87, The Queneau Distinguished Professor of Engineering

Student Marshals: BE candidate Chido M. Mpofu and MEM candidate Cole J. Andrus '20


Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor
Joseph Helble, Provost

Recognition of Award Recipients

Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor

Student Awards:

  • The George A. Colligan Memorial Prize
    Recipient: Jason Liu '21 Th'21
  • The Richard W. Olmsted 1932 (Thayer 1933) Prize
    Recipient: Andrew Skow '21 Th'21
  • Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
    Recipient: Andrew Skow '21 Th'21
  • Dartmouth Society of Engineers Prize
    Recipients: Meredith Anderson '21 Th'21; Miles Bock Th'21; Kavi Krsnadas '19 Th'21; James Monaco Th'21; Schae Nelson '21 Th'21; and Michael Steel '21 Th'21
  • Charles F. and Ruth D. Goodrich Prize
    Recipient: Nicholas Curtis
  • Corporate Collaboration Council Engineering Management Prize
    Recipient: Cole Andrus Th'21
  • Caroline Henderson Prize
    Recipient: Luke Metcalf Th'21
  • John C. Woodhouse Engineering Design Prize
    Recipient: Phuong Vincent Th'21
  • John C. Woodhouse Environmental Engineering Prize
    Recipients: Max Lindeman '21 Th'21; Ricardo Serrano-Smith; Ted Northup; and Luc Kharey
  • Brieanna S. Weinstein Engineering Design Prize
    Recipients: Kent Campbell Th'21; Shannon Kossman '20 Th'21;
    Parveer Kaur Th'21; Jacob Rozak '21 Th'21; and Megan Clark Th'21
  • John W. Strohbehn, PhD, Memorial Prize
    Recipient: Rachael Hachadorian
  • Dartmouth Engineering Prize for Graduate Research Excellence
    Recipients: Chuanlong Wang Th'21 and Steffi Muhanji Th'21
  • Special Faculty Award for Engineering and Service to Humanity
    Recipient: Andrew Allee
  • Dean's Service Award
    Recipient: Cameron Planck Th'21

Faculty, Staff, and Community Awards:

  • Outstanding Service Award for Staff
    Recipient: Raina White, Engineering Lab Instructor
  • Outstanding Service Award for Faculty
    Recipient: Vicki May, Professor of Engineering
  • Thayer Diversity and Inclusion Award
    Recipients: Tejaswini Chatty Th'21, PhD Innovation Fellow and Amy Keeler,
    Associate Director of Career Services
  • Thayer Distinguished Research Award for Faculty
    Recipient: Brian Pogue, MacLean Professor of Engineering
  • Woodhouse Excellence in Teaching Award
    Recipient: Laura Ray, Senior Associate Dean and Professor of Engineering

Student Address

PhD candidate Boyu Meng (see transcript)

Presentation of Robert Fletcher Award

Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor
Recipient: Ernest J. Moniz

Keynote Address

Ernest J. Moniz, US Secretary of Energy, 2013–2017 (see transcript)

Conferring of Hoods

Ian Baker, Sherman Fairchild Professor of Engineering and Senior Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Programs

Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor

Closing Remarks

Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor


Graduates and faculty recess to Memorial Field stands for the class photo.

Downloadable Photos

Please enjoy this album of free downloadable professional photos:

Investiture Photos

Investiture 2021