2024 Investiture

Dartmouth Engineering's 2024 Investiture ceremony took place on Saturday, June 8, at the West End Circle. Mung Chiang, Purdue University president and distinguished electrical engineer, delivered the keynote address

Investiture is held the day before Dartmouth Commencement and honors graduating BE, MEng, MEM, MS, and PhD students with the presentation of academic hoods, caps, and awards.

Livestream Recording

Investiture Program

2024 Investiture Processional
(Photo by Mark Washburn)


Faculty Marshal: Geoffroy Hautier, Hodgson Family Associate Professor of Engineering

Student Marshals: (see article)
Julia Elizabeth Huddy, PhD candidate
Matthew J. Eybs, MEng candidate
Oreoluwasubomi O. Gbotosho, MEM candidate
David James Edington, BE candidate


Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor
David Kotz '86, Provost


Student Awards: (award descriptions)

  • The Richard W. Olmsted 1932 (Thayer 1933) Prize: Gabriel M. Landi '24
  • Faculty Award for Academic Excellence: David Edington
  • Dartmouth Society of Engineers Prize: Gretchen Ruth Carpenter, Byron Dean Francis, Mia Katherine Giallorenzi, Xinping Ran, and Anisia Gabriela Țiplea
  • Charles F. and Ruth D. Goodrich Prize: Adelaide Linden Cagle
  • Corporate Collaboration Council Engineering Management Prize: Juan Francisco Alzugaray Arbeleche
  • Caroline Henderson Prize: Filip Jakub Nowicki
  • Master of Engineering Award: Matthew Werts
  • John C. Woodhouse Engineering Design Prize: Huan Zhao
  • John C. Woodhouse Environmental Engineering Prize: Alyssa N. Pantaleo
  • Brieanna S. Weinstein Engineering Design Prize: Avery Sage Jones, Adrienne Coleman, Lauren Rebecca Kader, and Olivia Simone McField
  • John W. Strohbehn, PhD, Memorial Prize: Savannah Marie Decker
  • Dartmouth Engineering Prize for Graduate Research Excellence: Julia Elizabeth Huddy
  • Don Stayner Th'16 Changemaker Award: Colin Finn Braun, Catherine Casson, Sarah Torpie Hutchinson, Sierra H. Lee, Sarah Jiwoo Nam, and Grace Turner
  • Dean's Service Award: Julia Elizabeth Huddy

Faculty, Staff, and Community Awards: (award descriptions)

  • Outstanding Service Award for Staff: Emily Monroe and Sarah Heidebrecht
  • Outstanding Service Award for Faculty: 2023-2024 Faculty Search Committee—Professor George Cybenko, Professor Hui Fang, Professor Klaus Keller, Professor Laura Ray (chair), Professor Vikrant Vaze
  • Thayer Diversity and Inclusion Award: Professor Yan Li, and Bill Serena Yombe Tchoumpmi
  • Thayer Distinguished Research Award for Faculty: Professor Geoffroy Hautier
  • Woodhouse Excellence in Teaching Award: Professor Geoffrey P. Luke

Student Address

Chase A. Yakaboski, PhD candidate (see transcript)

Van Citters hoods a graduate
(Photo by Mark Washburn)

Presentation of the Robert Fletcher Award

Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor, presented the Robert Fletcher Award.

Keynote Address

2024 Robert Fletcher Award recipient Mung Chiang, Purdue University president and distinguished electrical engineer (see transcript)

Conferring of Hoods

Academic deans and program directors conferred hoods to BE, MEng, MEM, and MS candidates. Faculty advisors in attendance conferred hoods to their respective PhD candidates.

Closing Remarks

Alexis Abramson, Dean & Professor


Graduates and faculty recessed and gathered in the Class of 1982 Engineering and Computer Science Center (ECSC) for a class photo.


Reception immediately followed on the patio outside the Class of 1982 ECSC.

Photos & Video

Photos by our photographer are available for free download from Thayer's Flickr site:

2024 Photos

Watch the 2024 livestream video recording on YouTube.

Each graduate also has the opportunity to purchase their photo with the dean through GradImages. Graduates, please check your email and mail for more information about how to purchase these photos.

West End Circle

Dartmouth's West End Circle with green lawn in the foreground, surrounded by Dartmouth Engineering's Cummings Hall and the Irving Institute for Energy and Society.

Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth's Investiture is held at the West End Circle, located at the end of Tuck Mall. The lawn on which the ceremony is held is surrounded by Cummings Hall, Arthur L. Irving Institute for Energy and Society, and Tuck School of Business.

Campus Maps

Investiture Archive

Access information, photos, and videos from previous Investiture ceremonies.