2024 Investiture Information

All Thayer News

Former US Secretary of Energy Ernest J. Moniz to Deliver 2021 Investiture Address

May 10, 2021   |   by Julie Bonette

Ernest J. Moniz, the US Secretary of Energy from 2013 to 2017, will deliver the keynote address at Thayer School of Engineering's Investiture ceremony and has been named this year's recipient of the Robert Fletcher Award, Dartmouth Engineering's highest honor.

Ernest J. Moniz

Named for the founding director and the first professor of engineering at Thayer, the Robert Fletcher Award is given annually in recognition of distinguished scientific achievement and service in the highest tradition of Thayer.

In addition to the Fletcher Award, Moniz will also receive an honorary degree from Dartmouth at its 2021 Commencement, held the day after Thayer's Investiture on June 13.

During Moniz's tenure as the thirteenth US Secretary of Energy, he advanced clean energy technology innovation as central to climate change mitigation, nuclear security, and cutting-edge scientific research capabilities. He also negotiated the Iran nuclear agreement alongside the Secretary of State.

Moniz joined the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) faculty in 1973, founded the MIT Energy Initiative, and is the Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Physics and Engineering Systems emeritus. He is CEO of the Nuclear Threat Initiative and of the Energy Futures Initiative. He has served on boards and advisory groups of numerous companies, non-profits, research institutions, and government agencies in the areas of energy, science, and security.

He received his bachelor of science in physics from Boston College and a doctorate in theoretical physics from Stanford University. Among his awards are the Grand Cross of the Order of Prince Henry the Navigator (Portugal), the Grand Cordon of the Order of the Rising Sun (Japan), the Distinguished Public Service Award of the Department of Defense, election to the American Philosophical Society, and the inaugural recipient of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences Award for Excellence in Public Policy and Public Affairs.

For contacts and other media information visit our Media Resources page.