Prizes & Awards

Most awards are presented at the annual Investiture ceremony, while some, such as the Jackson Award, are announced during the academic term.

Academic Prizes & Awards

Brieanna S. Weinstein Engineering Design Prize

Awarded annually to recognize a student or student team for demonstrating outstanding design skill in developing or creating new technologies, systems, or adaptive devices to address the needs and challenges of people (particularly children or adolescents) with physical or developmental disabilities.

2023 Recipients: Daniel S. Abate, MacKenzie Grace Guynn, Azariah Javillonar, Di Luo, and Zhanel Nugmanova

Caroline Henderson Prize

Awarded annually to the outstanding Master of Engineering Management (MEM) degree candidate in recognition of academic achievement and service. This prize was established in 2002 in memory of Professor Caroline Henderson, who was instrumental in the development of the MEM Program.

2023 Recipient: Claire E. Picken

Charles F. and Ruth D. Goodrich Prize

Awarded annually to a second-year Thayer student in recognition of outstanding achievement, with special emphasis on academic achievement. The prize was established in 1949 in the names of the donors. Dr. Goodrich 1905 Th1906 was President of the Dartmouth Society of Engineers from 1923 to 1929 and an Overseer of Thayer from 1941 to 1956.

2023 Recipient: Posie Millett

Corporate Collaboration Council Engineering Management Prize

Awarded annually for outstanding performance in the ENGG 390 internship and project by an MEM degree candidate.

2023 Recipient: Runqing Liu

Dean's Service Award

For honors students who have made exceptional contributions to Thayer, Dartmouth, or the broader world. It was established by the leadership of Thayer in recognition of Sylvanus Thayer's vision that the School "prepare the most capable and faithful for the most responsible positions and the most difficult service." Recipients are selected from nominations made by members—faculty, students, and staff—of the Thayer community.

2023 Recipient: Bishal Dev Sharma

Dartmouth Engineering Prize for Graduate Research Excellence

Awarded annually to a graduating Thayer PhD student who has demonstrated outstanding research excellence during their graduate study. Selection is by the Prize Committee based on nominations by faculty, with a second reference letter from inside or outside of Dartmouth. Only one prize winner will be selected per year, and the winner is not eligible for the Strohbehn Prize.

2023 Recipient: Congran Jin

Dartmouth Society of Engineers Prize

Awarded annually for outstanding performance in an engineering project by a Bachelor of Engineering student or team of students. The award is funded by the Dartmouth Society of Engineers and was established in 1928.

2023 Recipients: Ariel Attias, Julia R. Bellamy, Cameron M. Hasund, Margaret J. Knox, Sarah Xunzhi Lou, and Scarlett C. R. Souter

Faculty Award for Academic Excellence

Awarded annually to the student who has obtained the highest academic record in coursework required for the Bachelor of Engineering degree. The award was established by vote of the faculty in May 1980 and is supported by individual faculty members.

2023 Recipient: Andrew J. Bean

John C. Woodhouse Engineering Design Prize

Awarded annually to a Thayer student who has shown innovation and ingenuity in developing the most inexpensive but effective experimental equipment for the student's thesis research. The award was established in October 1988. Mr. Woodhouse was a former Thayer Overseer and Dartmouth Trustee.

2023 Recipients: Samantha Carranza, River B. Fenton, Nicholas M. Hagler, Rose M. Iannuzzi, Walden T. Marshall, and Nina Nesselbush

John C. Woodhouse Environmental Engineering Prize

Awarded annually to the undergraduate or graduate student (or a team of students) for the best work in the field of environmental study or research. The award was established in November 1989. Mr. Woodhouse was a former Thayer Overseer and Dartmouth Trustee.

2023 Recipients: Tejaswini Chatty and David Clemens-Sewall

John W. Strohbehn, PhD, Memorial Prize

Awarded annually to a student in recognition of outstanding performance in engineering in medicine. It was established in 2014 by Mrs. Barbara Strohbehn to honor her late husband, Professor John W. Strohbehn, "father of biomedical engineering" at Thayer, 1963–1994.

2023 Recipient: Arthur Félix Pétusseau

Phillip R. Jackson Award

Named after and established by the former Thayer Overseer—is given each quarter to the student group with the best overall performance in ENGS 21: Introduction to Engineering as determined by the Review Board which applies the following criteria:

  • societal importance of the selected problem
  • user-centric design considerations
  • sophistication of the design and degree of difficulty
  • functionality of the prototype, its documentation and testing
  • holistic approach to the engineering design process
  • consistent outstanding performance on both written and oral milestones

Fall 2023 Recipients: Margaret Frazier, Sophie Goldberg, Abby Hughes, Sara Magdalena Gomez, and Alda Zeneli

Winter 2023 Recipients: Justin Chong, Divya Chunduru, Ava Jacques, Allie Roehm, and Mia Seymour

Spring 2023 Section 1 Recipients: Daysia Charles, Hosaena Tilahun, Declan Unverferth, Perside Yolou, and Tonia Zakorchemna

Spring 2023 Section 2 Recipients: PJ Griffiths, Rahul Gupta, Christian Nyamekye, Henry Poret, and Andrew Wu

Richard W. Olmsted 1932 (Thayer 1933) Prize

Awarded annually to a Dartmouth senior recognizing outstanding performance in the engineering sciences major.

Don Stayner Th'16 Changemaker Award

Renamed in 2023 in memory of Donald "Don" Stayner Th'16, who earned what was formerly the Special Faculty Award for Engineering and Service to Humanity, the purpose of the award is to annually recognize a student or team of students in any degree program for exemplary achievement related to the application of engineering in service to society at Thayer.

2023 Recipients: Ariana I. Arvelo Marchan, Abbi Fitzpatrick, William B. Gano Jr., and Eliana L. Ray

Faculty, Staff & Community Awards

Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Awarded to an outstanding Thayer staff member for their tremendous and dedicated service to the School.

2023 Recipients: David A. McDevitt, associate director of facilities and Ashley Parker, faculty affairs manager

Outstanding Service Award for Faculty

Awarded to an outstanding Thayer faculty member for tremendous and dedicated service to the school and whose activities have significantly enhanced the quality of our educational institution and community of scholars.

2023 Recipient: Professor Solomon G. Diamond, co-director, Design Initiative at Dartmouth (DIAD)

Diversity and Inclusion Award

Awarded to a member or group of the Thayer community (students, faculty, and staff) for outstanding leadership, a deep commitment, and determined efforts in addressing and raising awareness about issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion in our community.

2023 Recipients: Julia Abraham, research and institutional analyst and Chase Yakaboski, PhD candidate

Distinguished Research Award for Faculty

Awarded to a Thayer faculty member for extraordinary scholarship, including demonstrating a particularly notable discovery or research accomplishment acknowledged through publication, citation, patent issuance, or some other form of dissemination.

2023 Recipient: Weiyang Fiona Li, William P. Harris career development associate professor of engineering

Woodhouse Excellence in Teaching Award

Awarded to a Thayer faculty member who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to students and love of teaching.

2023 Recipient: Professor William J. Scheideler