2024 Investiture Information

All Thayer News

Teaching and Scholarship: The 2023 Faculty Awards

Jul 28, 2023   |   Dartmouth News

Thirty-eight members of the faculty from the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Geisel School of Medicine, Guarini School of Graduate and Advanced Studies, Thayer School of Engineering, and Tuck School of Business have been honored for their exceptional accomplishments in teaching and mentoring, research, and other service to Dartmouth.

Professor Fiona Li receives the 2023 Thayer Distinguished Research Award. (Photo by Mark Washburn)

"The faculty recognized this year, from across the university, are models of the kind of commitment to students and dedication to scholarship that this institution always seeks to foster," says Provost David Kotz '86. "Their passion for their work has a profound impact on their students, their colleagues, their fields of study, and on Dartmouth."

This year's Thayer awardees are:

Faculty Mentoring Award

Awarded by the Graduate Student Council to recognize outstanding commitment to fostering the professional and personal development of graduate students.

Kimberley Samkoe, associate professor of engineering

Outstanding Service Award for Faculty

Honoring a member of the faculty for their service, dedication, and activities that have significantly enhanced Thayer’s community of scholars.

Solomon Diamond, associate professor of engineering and co-director, Design Initiative at Dartmouth

Distinguished Research Award for Faculty

Awarded to a faculty member for scholarly achievements that demonstrate notable discoveries or research accomplishments through publication, citation, or issued patents.

Weiyang (Fiona) Li, the William P. Harris Career Development Associate Professor of Engineering

Woodhouse Excellence in Teaching Award

Given to the best teacher-scholar among the engineering faculty.

William Scheideler, assistant professor of engineering

Link to source:


For contacts and other media information visit our Media Resources page.