Sylvanus Thayer Fellows Award

The Sylvanus Thayer Fellows Award was established in 1978 by Dartmouth Engineering's Board of Advisors to recognize alumni/ae and friends who have given thoughtfully of their time and resources to the school. The award, named after the school's founder, has been bestowed on individuals distinguished by their generosity to Thayer, their commitment to engineering education at Dartmouth, their accomplishments in their careers, and their service to the community at large.

Recent Honorees

2022 Sylvanus Thayer Fellows

Two Sustainable Energy Leaders Named 2022 Sylvanus Thayer Fellows

Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth named Richard Tabors '65 and Stina Brock '01 Th'02, two alumni leaders in the sustainable energy sector, as 2022 Sylvanus Thayer Fellows for their service to Dartmouth Engineering students and distinguished achievements in their field.

Learn more about the newest honorees

Past Fellows


Stina Brock '01 Th '02
Ralph E. Crump '66a
Carol B. Muller '77 P'06 '09
Richard Tabors '65


Michael C. Chapman '76 TH'77
Harlan W. Fair '53 TH'54 GP'18
Jessica L. Duda '96 TH'97 GR'99 TH'99
Robert B. Garman '69 TH'70 P'00


Albert W. Doolittle Jr. '36 TH'37 P'64
Christopher K. Hu '69 TH'70 P'15
Warren F. Daniell Jr. '48 TH'50 P'77
Charles L. Weinberg '42 TH'42 P'74
John H. Kennedy '53 TH'54 P'86
Thomas P. Putnam
John Fletcher
Frank P. Strong Jr. '56 TU'57 TH'57


William F. Allyn '58 TH'59 P'86 GP'15
Robert E. Field Sr. '43 TU'47 P'76 TUP'77 GP'93 '01 '12
John C. Woodhouse '21 GR'23 P'51 H'84
W. Patrick Gramm '52 P'88
Myron Tribus '42 H'66
Samuel C. Florman '46 TH'73 GP'20 '21
Stanley H. Feldberg '46 P'73 '74
Theodora L. Feldberg W'46 P'73 '74 GP'12
Paul J. Henegan '47 TH'49
Howard E. Sommer '40


William E. Buchanan '24 P'53 '56 GP'80 '81 H'77
Marian Miner Cook W'29 P'69 THP'70 GP'95 '98
Robert T. Ley '33 TH'34
Howard A. Schroedel '25 TH'26
Cecil Goodheart W'08 THW'09

Orodon S. Hobbs '31 TH'32 P'70
Craig J. Cain '45 TH'45 P'72 THP'71 GP'04
William H. Davidow '57 TH'58
George H. Hartmann '49 TH'50 P'83 '85 '91
Richard D. Lombard '53 TU'54 P'88
Ronald A. Schiavone '47 TH'48 P'82
John M. Alden '46 TU'48 TH'48
Joseph A. Baute Jr. '52 TH'54 P'77 TUP'80
James A. Browning '44 TH'45 P'78 H'61
Robert P. Hallock, Jr. '38
Charles J. Zimmerman '23 TU'24 H'73
David T. McLaughlin '54 TU'55 H'71 '87 P'78 '81 '85 TUP'81 GP'07 '09 '11 '12 '14 '16
Agnar Pytte P'82 GRP'82
Reuben Samuels '47 P'79
Edwin F. Studwell '31 TU'32
John W. Ballard II '55 TU/TH'56 GP'07 '08 '17 THGP'07 '09
Ray Stata
William E. Scollard '47 TH'48 P'92 TUP'95 THP'93


Henry C. Beck, Jr. '38 TH'39 P'81 GP'99
John O. Bickel
Peter R. Brown '49 TH'49
John B. Cook '29 P'69 GP'95 '98
George B. Davidson '13 TH'14
Nelson L. Doe '12 TH'13
Phillip R. Jackson '43 TH'43 P'77
Charles C. Jones '18 TH'19
Paul Jones, Jr. '44 TH'44 P'75 '77
Barry L. MacLean '60 TH'61 H'10 P'87 '94 '95 THP'95 '96 GP'25
Henry J. McCarthy '31 P'60
Eugene E. Nearburg P'72 THP'74
A. James O'Mara '42 TH'42 P'69 '71 '82 THP'86
Foxhall A. Parker '48 TH'49 P'82
Helen W. Parker P'82
Ida L. Patterson
Warren A. Peterson Jr. '55 P'80
Robert J. Rodday
Thomas L. Tyler '54 TH'56 P'75 '89 GP'00