2024 Investiture Information

All Thayer News

Emily Koepsell D'09 Receives Fulbright Award to Denmark

Mar 07, 2011

CONTACT: Catharine Lamm

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FSB) has selected Thayer School B.E. candidate Emily Koepsell D'09 to receive a Fulbright award to Denmark. The Presidentially appointed 12-member Board was established by Congress to supervise The Fulbright Program and select award recipients.

Emily Koepsell
Emily Koepsell

The award letter states, "As a representative of your country in Denmark you will help fulfill the principal purpose of the Fulbright Program: to increase mutual understanding between the people of the U.S. and the people of the more than 150 countries that currently participate in the Fulbright Program."

"I've been accepted to the Danish Technical University (DTU)," said Koepsell, "where I plan to study sustainable energy with a concentration in energy savings. The classes will actually be held at DTU's National Laboratory for Sustainable Energy which makes the experience even more exciting!

"I was surprised that I got it with there being so many well-qualified applicants," she continued, "but I think being an engineer interested in sustainable energy probably helped me stand out."

Added Koepsell, "The scholarship will enable me to study at DTU for a full academic year and to learn from some of the leading researchers in the field and be exposed to the latest technologies and innovations. I feel so fortunate to have this opportunity as I hope to pursue this field as a career and possibly become a professor and teach at Thayer!"

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by late Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas. The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the United States Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA).

Approximately 300,000 "Fulbrighters," 114,000 from the United States and 186,000 from other countries, have participated in the Program since its inception over sixty years ago. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 new grants annually.

For contacts and other media information visit our Media Resources page.