2024 Investiture Information

All Thayer News

2012 Formula Hybrid: Results and Awards

May 04, 2012   |   by Josiah Gruber, Yoon-Ki Park, Scott Lannana   |   FH Competition Blog

Hybrid results

  • First Place: Brigham Young University & Universite de Sherbrooke*
  • Third Place: Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya
  • Fourth Place: University of Texas Arlington
  • Fifth Place: Dartmouth
  • Sixth Place: McGill University

*Because the final scores of the first two finishers in the Hybrid category were within 0.2% of one another, and because the uncertainties in some of the event scores exceeded that value, the organizers have decided to award two first place trophies for 2012. Brigham Young received their first place trophy at the awards ceremony, and Sherbrooke will receive theirs by mail. There will be no second place.

Electric-only results

  • First Place: University of Kansas
  • Second Place: Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Third Place: Drexel University
  • Fourth Place: University of Manitoba
  • Fifth Place: Cal Poly SLO

IEEE Engineering the Future Award and Excellence in EV Engineering Award

  • Engineering the Future: University of Kansas
  • Excellence in EV Engineering: University of Kansas

Ford Efficiency Award

  • First Place: Universite de Sherbrooke
  • Second Place: Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Third Place: Dartmouth

GM Best-Engineered Hybrid Award

  • First Place: University of Texas-Arlington
  • Second Place: Universite de Sherbrooke
  • Third Place: Dartmouth

Events summary (partial)

results chart

Link to source:


For contacts and other media information visit our Media Resources page.