Board of Advisors Members

The Board of Advisors is comprised of alumni and friends of Thayer School of Engineering, including the President of Dartmouth, the Provost of Dartmouth, a Trustee of Dartmouth, and the Dean of Thayer, who serve in ex-officio positions.

New members are nominated by the Dean and the current Board members to serve three-year terms, with the exception of the ex-officio members. Elections are by a majority vote of the Board, with subsequent approval by the Trustees and formal appointment by the President of Dartmouth.

Board Members

Michael Adams '83
Senior Advisor, Blackstone Group

Christine Burnley Bucklin '84 P'18
Managing Director (Retired), Gryphon Investors

Todd M. Cook '93 Th'94 P'25 (Chair-Elect)
Managing Partner, Bain Capital Double Impact

Richard "Dick" W. Couch Jr. '64 Th'65
Chairman, Hypertherm, Inc.

Ashifi Gogo Th'09 Th'10
Founder and CEO, Sproxil

William "Will" J. Griffith '93
Partner, Iconiq Capital

Vijay Kumar
Nemirovsky Family Dean, Penn Engineering

Jian Lu Th'93
President, LinkedIn China

Barry L. MacLean '60 Th'61 P'87 P'94 P'95 ThP'95 ThP'96 HON'10 GP'25
Chairman, MacLean-Fogg Co.

Monica A. Martin de Bustamante '08 Th'09
Senior Partner, Trinity Life Sciences

Terrance G. McGuire Th'82 P'08
Founding Partner, Polaris Partners

Christopher J. McKenna '88 P'20 P'23 P'26
Co-founder & Managing Partner, Carleton McKenna & Co

Charles E. Nearburg '72 Th'73 Th'74 P'10
President/Owner, Nearburg Producing Company

Christina "Christy" Dowding Nicholas '94 Th'95

Luis Paz-Galindo '93 Th'94
Founding Partner, Blue Road Capital

Catherine Sellman '93
Founder/Portfolio Manager, Aperimus Funds

Edward "Skip" P. Stritter '68 P'16
President, Stritter Consulting

Samantha Scollard Truex '92 Th'93 Tu'95 P'22 (Chair)
CEO, Upstream Bio

James "Jim" TenBroek '83
Founding Partner, Growth Catalyst Partners, LLC

Tracey Pettengill Turner '93
Founder & Executive Chairman, Copia Global

Katherine G. Osborne Valdez '94 Th'95
Board President, The Powell Foundation

Ex-Officio Members

Thayer's Dean, in addition to Dartmouth's President and Provost, serve as members of the Board of Advisors by virtue of their roles.

Philip J. Hanlon '77
President, Dartmouth College

David Kotz
Provost, Dartmouth College

Alexis R. Abramson
Dean, Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth

Elizabeth "Liz" C. Lempres '83 Th'84 P'11
Senior Partner Emeritus, McKinsey & Company; Dartmouth Trustee Representative

Emeriti Members

Board members who have served with distinction are sometimes granted emeriti status at the end of their term.

John W. Ballard II '55 Th'56 Tu'56 GP'07 ThGP'07 GP'08 ThGP'09 GP'17
President/CEO, Radio Propagation Services, Inc. (RPSI)

Brent Bilger '80 Th'81 P'11 ThP'12 P'13 ThP'13 ThP'16
Vice President of Solutions Architecture, Vidder Inc.

Peter M. Fahey '68 Th'69 Th'70 P'92 P'94 P'97 P'06 GP'22 GP'25 HON'18
Partner (Retired), Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

Clinton P. Harris '69 Th'70 P'04
Senior Advisor and Co-Founder, Grove Street Advisors, LLC

Christopher K. Hu '69 Th'70 P'15
Counsel, Blank Rome LLP

John H. "Jake" Krehbiel Jr. P'87 ThP'89 P'91 ThP'92 P'94
Former Co-chairman, Molex, Inc.

Christopher F. McConnell '75 P'09 P'11 ThP'12 ThP'13 P'14
Co-Founder, Nth Round, Inc.

Michael J. Ross '71 P'08
General Partner, SV Life Sciences

Scott D. Sandell '86 P'23 P'23
Managing General Partner, New Enterprise Associates

Brian J. Thompson
Provost Emeritus and Distinguished University Professor (Retired), University of Rochester

S. David Wu
President, Baruch College of the City University of NY