Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


Professor Eric Fossum has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the highest honor the engineering community bestows. He also has been named a Charter Fellow of the National Academy of Innovators in recognition of his invention of the CMOS active pixel image sensor, now found in nearly every cell phone and digital camera.

Professor Jifeng Liu was named a 2012 recipient of the National Science Foundation’s CAREER Award for outstanding young faculty who through their work “exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research.” The award will enable Liu to pursue research on low-temperature growth of high crystallinity germanium tin (GeSn) on amorphous materials for advanced optoelectronics.

Professor Keith Paulsen was named a Fellow of SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, for his achievements in multi-modality medical imaging technologies for the detection and treatment of cancer, especially in the breast and brain.

Professor Brian Pogue was named a Fellow of the Optical Society of America for his contributions to optical tomography and spectroscopy of breast cancer and advancement of optical diffusion modeling software for tissue spectroscopy and imaging.

Professor Ulrike Wegst was one of 78 young engineers selected to take part in the National Academy of Engineering’s 18th annual U.S. Frontiers of Engineering symposium in September. The materials scientist also serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Bionic Engineering.

The world’s most exciting, groundbreaking technology is pointless if it is unable to address an urgent and relevant need, Professor Tillman Gerngross argued in a recent issue of Nature Biotechnology magazine. “As basic scientists, our impact is measured by generating new knowledge and advancing our understanding of how the world works,” stated Gerngross, cofounder of therapeutic protein companies GlycoFi and Adimab. “Not all problems are worth solving, and your job as a bio-entrepreneur is to figure out which ones are.”

Ph.D. candidate Kaitlin Keegan provided a critical data point to a NASA announcement last summer regarding extreme melting of the Greenland Ice Sheet. “An estimated 97 percent of the ice sheet surface thawed at some point in mid-July,” reported NASA, pointing to Keegan’s analyses of ice cores. Keegan and Professor Mary Albert are among the coauthors of a new paper published in Nature reconstructing the climate of the Eemian interglacial period, based on the analysis of a 2,540-meter-long ice core from northern Greenland.

Elizabeth Chang Th’12, Amanda Christian Th’12, and Christopher Ng Th’12 were finalists in the annual Collegiate Inventors Competition sponsored by Invent Now, Inc. The Thayer team—advised by Professor Douglas Van Citters ’99 Th’03 ’06—invented an “Expandable Hydrogel Sphere for Orbital Implantation” for patients either lacking an eyeball or having a small eyeball. This was the third time in four years that Thayer students have won or been finalists in the competition.

Robbie Cholnoky ’13, Kevin Dahms ’12, Annie Saunders ’12, and Robbie Moss ’12 traveled to Fond des Blancs, Haiti, in November to examine the town’s water pump system and research ways to increase its durability. The students undertook the project in post-earthquake Haiti as part of ENGS 89/90, Thayer’s capstone B.E. engineering design course.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, climate change, energy, engineering in medicine, entrepreneurship, faculty, research, students

comments powered by Disqus