COVID-19 Information
Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


Professor Lee Lynd received the 2011 Mines Medal, awarded annually by the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology “to honor engineers, scientists, and researchers who have demonstrated exceptional leadership and innovation.” In June Lynd and Jeremy Woods published an article in the journal Nature. “Perspective: A New Hope for Africa” argues that bioenergy could help bring food security to the world’s poorest continent.

Professor Ian Baker has been named a fellow of the Materials Research Society. He was recognized for his scientific leadership in exploring the structure-property relationships of materials.

Professor Mary Albert accepted an invitation from the National Academy of Sciences to serve on its Committee on the Legacies and Lessons of the International Polar Year.

Dean Joseph Helble discussed the importance of technological literacy in the 21st century during a TEDx lecture, “The World’s ‘Sputnik Moment’?”:

Arsanis Inc. of Lebanon, N.H., co-founded by Professor Tillman Gerngross, Errik Anderson ’00 Tu’07, and Eszter Nagy, has raised $10 million in funding. The startup is developing fully human monoclonal antibodies to treat a variety of infectious diseases.

Avedro, a startup based on technology developed by Professor B. Stuart Trembly, has completed $25-million series C financing. The Waltham, Mass.-based company offers thermal techniques for reshaping corneas.

Engineering majors Eric Packer ’12 and Stephanie Crocker ’12 have been named to the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association’s All Academic Intercollegiate Ski Team. Packer was also awarded the Francis L. Town Scientific Prize for the class of 2012 for meritorious work in engineering sciences.

Saryah Azmat ’11, an engineering major, was one of five students chosen to represent Dartmouth at a global health case competition at Emory University in March. The team won an honorable mention and $1,000 for a hypothetical plan to efficiently allocate resources for 800,000 refugees in East Africa.

Engineering physics major Jeremy Brouillet ’13 received an honorable mention from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program. Brouillet, who has worked in the laser lab at Thayer, plans to pursue a Ph.D. in materials science.

Lucas Ellis Th’12 attended the annual National Biodiesel Board Conference in February as co-chair of Next Generation Scientists for Biodiesel. See an interview with him:

Anne Kwei Th’11, Ilya Bendich DMS’14, and Joe Gigliotti DMS’14 joined together to win the first Dartmouth Medical Technology Business Plan Competition in May. Their plan was for Rytek Medical, a company commercializing a cancer-sensing biopsy needle invented by Professor Ryan Halter Th’06. The competition was the brainchild of Jay Miller ’82.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, energy, engineering in medicine, entrepreneurship, faculty, leadership, research, students

comments powered by Disqus