Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


Dartmouth earned the top spot in The Daily Beast’s listing of “Tech’s 29 Most Powerful Colleges.” The website praised the Dartmouth Regional Technology Center, a nonprofit tech incubator supported by Thayer School faculty and alumni through the Dartmouth Entrepreneurial Network.

Professor Elsa Garmire was honored as a “Laser Pioneer” at the Smithsonian Museum in February as part of LaserFest, a celebration marking the 50th anniversary of the first working laser. As a graduate student at MIT, Garmire first demonstrated important nonlinear effects produced by laser beams acting on atoms and molecules.

Professor Tillman Gerngross, co-founder and CEO of biotech firm Adimab Inc., and his colleagues, co-founder Dane Wittrup and COO Errik Anderson ’00 Tu’07, earned a 2010 Entrepreneur of the Year Award from the New Hampshire High Technology Council. Last October, Google took an ownership stake in Adimab, which identifies therapeutic proteins, for an estimated $10 to $13 million.

Douglas Fraser, research engineer and director of Formula Hybrid, was awarded the 2010 Carroll Smith Mentor’s Cup by Formula SAE and the Sports Car Club of America. The award recognizes extraordinary levels of personal time and expertise given to engineering education. The citation praises Fraser’s mentoring of Formula Hybrid students.

Brent Bilger ’80 Th’81 and Chris McConnell ’75 have been appointed to Thayer School’s Board of Overseers. Bilger is an executive in residence with U.S. Venture Partners in Menlo Park, Calif. McConnell is the founder and president of Adondo Corp., a Wayne, Pa.-based company that develops custom enterprise and web-based solutions for mobile content delivery and advertising.

Professor Alex Hartov Th’88 has been appointed director of Thayer School’s M.S. and Ph.D. programs.

Professors Charles Sullivan and Christopher Levey and researchers from MIT, Georgia Tech, and the University of Pennsylvania have received a $92-million grant from the Department of Energy for improving integrated power electronics to increase energy efficiency and reduce carbon emissions.

Dartmouth has been designated a Center of Cancer Nanotechnology Excellence with a $12.8-million grant from the National Institutes of Health. Thayer Professors Ian Baker, Keith Paulsen Th’84, Tillman Gerngross, Karl Griswold, John Weaver, Jack Hoopes, and Brian Pogue will work with medical colleagues on using magnetic nanoparticles to destroy tumors.

Professor Sue McGrath is a project team member on a patient surveillance system being implemented by anesthesiologists at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. The system, which earned the 2009 Health Devices Achievement Award from the healthcare nonprofit ECRI Institute, helps doctors identify and treat post-surgical problems before they develop into medical crises.

U.S. Patent 7,701,317, “Low AC resistant foil winding for magnetic coils on gapped cores,” has been issued to Professor Charles Sullivan and Jennifer D. Pollock Th’06.

U.S. Patent 7,713,268 B2, “Thermokeratoplasty Systems,” has been issued to Professor Stuart Trembly Th’83, Adjunct Professor Jack Hoopes, and Dr. Paul Manganiello of Dartmouth Medical School.

The Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering Education and Practice named a paper co-authored by Professor Daniel Lynch its “Best Paper for 2009.” In “Experiential Learning in Engineering Practice” Lynch argues that the current system of pre-licensure experience is inadequate to meet contemporary expectations for professional engineering leadership.

Ph.D. candidates Broc Burke DMS’09 and Claire McKenna ’10 have received 2010-11 Albert Schweitzer Fellowships to carry out service projects in Vermont and New Hampshire that address the health needs of underserved individuals and communities. Burke plans to connect mentors from Thayer and Dartmouth athletic teams with children who suffer from chronic illness. McKenna plans to combat obesity and diabetes by creating cooking classes and spreading nutritional information.

Emily Koepsell ’09 Th’10 has been awarded a Fulbright Fellowship to study abroad for one year. She plans to take classes in sustainable energy and energy savings at the Technical University of Denmark’s National Laboratory for Sustainable Energy in Copenhagen.

Ashley Morishige ’11 has earned a 2010-11 Bengt Sonnerup Fellowship to support further research and implementation of her honors thesis project, “A quantification of global pasture yield and the potential to increase biofuel production through pasture intensification.” The award encourages applied research that addresses global climate change.

Sam Tanyos ’11 was awarded a Mazilu Engineering Research Fellowship for 2010-11 in support of his project, “Improving the activity of alginate lyase, a potential enzyme therapy for cystic fibrosis patients.” The award will enable him to continue enzyme engineering research in the lab of Professor Karl Griswold. The fellowship was created by Jaime Mazilu ’05 Th’06.

Hannah Payne ’11, a neuroscience and engineering sciences double major, was awarded a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, which supports outstanding students who intend to pursue careers in science, math, and engineering.

Sproxil Inc., co-founded by Ph.D. candidate Ashifi Gogo Th’09, was selected as a winner in the 7th Annual MITX Technology Awards in the Mobile Infrastructure category in June. Sproxil’s mobile-phone based anti-counterfeiting service enables consumers to confirm a brand’s genuineness via text messaging.

Thayer School won the grand prize in a video contest sponsored by the National Engineers Week Foundation and the American Society of Civil Engineers that addressed the question: How do you make your mark on the world? The video, made by Bonnie Hennessee ’08, Betsy Dain-Owens ’10, Calvin Krishen Th’08, Ph.D. candidate Tao Mao, dual-degree student Evan Lipinski, and Grayson Zulauf ’12, highlights ways Dartmouth students get kids excited about engineering: running a Lego League robotics tournament; mentoring high-school students during Summer Enrichment at Dartmouth; helping middle-schoolers make model solar racecars; and running an after-school science program for elementary students.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: alumni, award, energy, engineering in medicine, entrepreneurship, faculty, patent, projects, research, students

comments powered by Disqus