Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


Professor Reza Olfati-Saber has earned a CAREER Award, the National Science Foundation‘s top award for young faculty, for his work on mobile sensor networks.

Two professors have been named to endowed chairs. Ian Baker, an expert in metallurgy, ice physics, and nanomaterials science, has become the Fairchild Professor of Engineering. Keith Paulsen Th’84, co-director of the Dartmouth Advanced Imaging Center in Radiology, is the inaugural holder of the Robert A. Pritzker Chair in Biomedical Engineering.

Ursula Gibson ’76 and Brian Pogue have been promoted from associate to full professor.

Professor Anatoly Streltsov Th’95 has been elected secretary of the Commission H (Waves in Plasma) of the U.S. National Committee for the International Radio Science Union.

Professors Laura Ray and Eugene Santos Jr. are two of three New Hampshire scientists who have been awarded research grant funding from the U.S. Department of Defense totaling nearly $1.6 million. Ray will employ wireless sensor networks to develop and test a theory that could improve the interpretation of sound by humans in remote or battlefield environments. Santos will develop an advanced cognitive-based communication protocol for medical teams to improve decision making and problem solving in trauma environments.

Tom Scanlon, research associate, has been named the third annual Carol Basbaum Memorial Research Fellow by the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Scanlon has been working with professor Karl Griswold on enzyme therapeutics for treating complications associated with cystic fibrosis. The two-year fellowship provides $86,100 for new therapeutics for cystic fibrosis.

Professor Mark Borsuk has received an Early Career Research Excellence Prize from the International Environmental Modelling and Software Society.

Thayer School has been awarded a place in the Armed Forces Institute of Regenerative Medicine, a multi-institutional, network developing advanced treatment options, such as tissue engineering, for severely wounded U.S. servicemen and women. “This new program will provide state-of-the-art technologies to help the wounded in the present wars,” says Dr. Joseph Rosen, the Thayer principal investigator and an adjunct professor of engineering and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center plastic surgeon. “It will also have long term dual use for civilian-related problems.”

Schweitzer Fellows Philip Wagner ’09 and Caitlin Johnson ’10 organized two events at Thayer in April to introduce kids to robotics. Through Dartmouth’s FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) Lego League, Thayer students showed elementary and middle school students how to build and program robots made of Legos.

Jessica Ogden ’08 Th’08 won first prize in Dartmouth’s Christopher G. Reed Science Competition for her research poster on “Toxicity and Efficacy of Iron Oxide Nanoparticles for Cancer Therapy.” Her advisor was Thayer adjunct and Dartmouth Medical School radiobiology professor Jack Hoopes.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, complex systems, engineering in medicine, faculty, research, students

comments powered by Disqus