Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


GlycoFi, founded in 2000 by Professors Tillman Gerngross and Charles Hutchinson, has been recognized by Scientific American as one of 50 technology businesses that have “exhibited outstanding technology leadership in the realms of research, business, and policy-making.” GlycoFi is pioneering a technology to produce human-like protein for therapeutic use.

Professor Emeritus Graham Wallis has been elected chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission’s (NRC) Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards. Wallis, whose research focused on multiphase flow, has been a member of the committee since his retirement from Thayer School in 2001. At the NRC, he has been analyzing thermal-hydraulic computer codes and developing methods for evaluating uncertainties in the codes for predicting possible nuclear accidents.

Professor Bengt Sonnerup received a Group Achievement Award from NASA for his contribution to the success of Cluster, an international space exploration mission launched by the European Space Agency and NASA in 2000. Cluster’s four orbiting probes relay information about solar winds and their effects on Earth. Sonnerup is a co-investigator on Cluster’s plasma spectrometer experiments.

One of Professor Charles Sullivan’s research teams won top honors in its division in the Efficiency Challenge 2004 international competition sponsored by the Department of Energy. The competition sought “cutting edge power supply designs that are not ready for the market, but are able to achieve outstanding efficiencies.” Entering the category of 6-24 watt, 5-12 volt circuits typical of office phones, battery chargers, and computer peripherals, the team used advanced optimization techniques to construct a power supply that achieved an average of 88 percent efficiency over the range of test conditions. The team, led by Ph.D. candidate Jennifer Pollock, consisted of Ph.D. candidates Xi Nan, Satish Prabhakaran, and M.S. student Magdalena Dale.

M.S. candidate Lincoln Potwin took fourth-place honors in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ 2004 “Old Guard Young Engineers” international competition. Potwin presented his research on an ultrasound scanning system for breast surface detection.

Engineering Sciences major Tom Zangle 05 received the College Student of the Year Award from the New England section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. AIAA member Alex Bruccoleri 07 is a mentor for the 2005 Team America Rocketry Challenge sponsored by the Aerospace Industries Association. He has been mentoring high school students from Wolfeboro, N.H.

M.E.M. candidate Rebecca Wang and Kay Kochan, an M.S. exchange student from Germany, participated in the ninth annual “March Madness for the Mind” competition held in San Diego by the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance. The students exhibited an active noise reduction module. Their project advisor is Associate Professor Laura Ray.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, faculty, research

comments powered by Disqus