COVID-19 Information
Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


ELECTED: Dean Joseph Helble has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. AAAS cites Helble “for contributions in the areas of air pollution, aerosols, nanoscale ceramics, and air quality, and for excellence in teaching and professional service.”

AWARDED: Three professors recently earned tenure: Margie Ackerman, an “immuno-engineer” who focuses on understanding and enhancing the role of antibodies in fighting and treating disease; Jason Stauth, an expert in power electronics who focuses on power management in solar arrays, energy-efficient operation of devices, and power management in energy storage systems; and Douglas Van Citters ’99 Th’03 ’06, who heads the Dartmouth Biomedical Engineering Center for Orthopaedics and focuses on improving orthopaedic implants.

AWARDED: Professor Margie Ackerman has been awarded an Amgen Young Investigator Award in recognition of her “work in developing high-throughput experimental and computational technologies for therapeutic antibody and vaccine design and evaluation.” In addition to receiving a $25,000 research grant, Ackerman delivered a lecture at the Amgen Young Investigators Symposium at Caltech in October.

NAMED: Professor Brian Pogue has been named editor-in-chief of the Journal of Biomedical Optics, published by SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics. Pogue directs Thayer’s MS and PhD programs and Dartmouth’s medical physics program and cofounded the Optics in Medicine research program to advance imaging technologies for cancer diagnosis and management.

AWARDED: PhD candidates Andrew Allee Th’20 and Ethan LaRochelle Th’20 have received National Science Foundation Research Fellowships, which include a three-year annual stipend of $34,000. Allee’s research focuses on developing process, economic models, and design of facilities to utilize innovations for advanced cellulosic ethanol. LaRochelle is helping to develop a multi-spectral imaging system for assessing the efficacy of photodynamic therapy for treating pre-cancerous skin lesions.

NAMED: Professors Paul Meaney and Rahul Sarpeshkar have been named Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the world’s leading professional association for advancing technology for humanity. The IEEE cites Meaney “for contributions to microwave tomography and its translation to clinical use” and Sarpeshkar “for contributions to ultra low-power biomedical electronics.”

AWARDED: Two members of the Thayer community received Outstanding Presentation Awards at the IEEE Applied Power Electronics Conference last spring. MS student Benedict Foo Th’20 won for his poster presentation, “A Step-by-Step Guide to Extracting Winding Resistance from an Impedance Measurement.” Post-doc Aaron Stein won for his lecture, “High-Q Self-Resonant Structure for Wireless Power Transfer.”

NAMED: Engineering major Kevin Kang ’18 was named a Goldwater Scholar, the top award for undergraduates in the sciences. Kang plans to pursue biomedical research.

AWARDED: Adjunct Professor Richard Greenwald Th’88 has earned the USA Hockey 2017 Excellence in Safety Award. A vice president of the Hockey Equipment Certification Council and cofounder of the National Institute for Sports Science and Safety, Greenwald works on biomechanics, injury prevention, and sports equipment improvement.

NOTED: Professor Lee Lynd Th’84 Th’87 is leading the U.S. Department of Energy BioEnergy Science Center’s efforts to create new methods of improving biofuel yields from non-food plant sources. He and his team recently demonstrated a cheaper, more effective method of biomass deconstruction and conversion using a naturally occurring microbe and a standard milling practice.

AWARDED: PhD candidate Keji Wei won the Bronze Anna Valicek Medal given by the Airline Group of the International Federation of Operational Research Societies for his research paper “Modeling Crew Itineraries and Delays in the National Air Transportation System.” The medal promotes innovative airline-related operations research. Wei works with Professor Vikrant Vaze.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, faculty, research, students

comments powered by Disqus