COVID-19 Information
Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


Professor Eric R. Fossum has earned the 2014 Camera Origination and Imaging Medal Award from the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers for his invention and promotion of CMOS active pixel sensor technology, which he developed while working at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory. His technology is now ubiquitous in motion picture and television cameras, cell phones, and numerous other applications.

Professor Paul Meaney and Adjunct Professor John Weaver won the American Association of Physicists in Medicine’s Moses and Sylvia Greenfield Award for the best paper published in Medical Physics in 2013, “Integration of microwave tomography with magnetic resonance for improved breast imaging.”

Thayer Dean Joseph J. Helble has been named to the newly created New Hampshire Task Force on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) Education. The 14-member task force will recommend ways to modernize STEM education.

Engineering major Morgan Curtis ’14 earned the 2014 Dartmouth Sustainability Student Award in May. An alumna of Dartmouth’s Big Green Bus, Curtis leads Dartmouth’s fossil fuel divestment campaign and manages the Office of Sustainability’s EcoReps program for first-year students. Studio art and engineering lecturer Jack Wilson, who works on the $300 House project in Haiti, won the Sustainability Award for faculty.

Professor Solomon Diamond ’97 Th’98 was profiled in a feature on “20 under 40” in the September issue of the American Society for Engineering Education’s magazine, Prism. Diamond was cited for taking “hands-on learning to new levels”—including having students make and race diwheel vehicles in his ENGS 146: Computer-Aided Mechanical Engineering Design course and inviting students to dine and conduct energy audits at his net-zero house.

Engineering student Rachel Glikin ’17 has been named a 2014–15 N.H./Vt. Albert Schweitzer Fellow. She will help interest children ages 6 to 9 in engineering and science by running a Junior FIRST LEGO League in Norwich, Vt.

Engineering major Sarah Hammer ’15 has been named a 2014 Goldwater Scholar. Hammer, who has taken part in Dartmouth’s Women in Science Project and researched cellulosic biofuels in the lab of Professor Lee Lynd Th’84, intends to pursue a Ph.D. in chemical engineering.

Engineering grad students Alden Adolph ’11, Fioleda Prifti, and Molly Grear ’11 have earned National Science Foundation graduate research fellowships for 2014. Each will receive three years of support from NSF, including a $32,000 annual stipend and a $12,000 cost-of-education allowance, as they continue their research.

Engineering students James Kennedy ’14 and Albert Kim ’14 have earned fellowships that will support their research in environmental engineering and biomaterials. Kennedy was awarded the Bengt Sonnerup Fellowship and will work with Professor Mark Borsuk to investigate technologies that thermally decompose cellulosic biomass with a goal of producing energy. Kim was awarded the Mazilu Engineering Research Fellowship and will work with Professor Ulrike Wegst to improve hyperthermia cancer treatment.

Skipper Deirdre Lambert ’15 has been named the Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year for the second straight year after leading the Dartmouth women’s sailing team to its second consecutive win in the Sperry Top-Sider National Championship in May. “It’s great. I couldn’t imagine this happening again,” says the biomedical engineering major, who learned to sail in Maine.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, energy, engineering in medicine, extra-curricular, faculty, humanitarian service, STEM, students

comments powered by Disqus