Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


Dean Joseph Helble has appointed Professor Ian Baker as senior associate dean and Associate Professor Brian Pogue, who recently gained tenure, as director of the M.S. and Ph.D. programs.

George Cybenko, Dorothy and Walter Gramm Professor of Engineering, has been appointed as a representative of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society to the Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors. The CRA includes more than 200 U.S. and Canadian academic departments in computer science, computer engineering and related fields, as well as member organizations from industry and government. Cybenko serves on the Board of Governors of the 90,000-member IEEE Computer Society and is currently editor-in-chief of the IEEE publication Security & Privacy.

Professor Lee Lynd was awarded the Charles D. Scott Award at the 27th Symposium on Biotechnology for Fuels and Chemicals on May 1 in Denver, Colo. The award recognizes those who have distinguished themselves through their sustained contributions to biotechnology for fuels and chemicals.

Professor Bill Lotko was named editor-in-chief of the Journal of Atmospheric and Solar Terrestrial Physics.

Adjunct Professor Mary Albert was recognized at Dartmouth’s annual Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Poster Symposium for 10 years of mentoring young women.

B.E. students Tia Hansen, Liz Hunneman, Jaime Mazilu, Sally Smith, and Diana Szczepanski, all from the Dartmouth class of 2005, received Clare Boothe Luce scholarships for 2005-06. Luce scholarships are awarded to engineering-bound women whose academic achievements and other accomplishments are of the highest quality.

Johnathan Loudis ’05 won a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship to pursue his M.S. at Thayer School. Working with Professor Ian Baker, he is studying the magnetic properties of the iron-cobalt-manganese-aluminum metal alloy system.

Lauren Padilla ’05, Xiongjun Shao Th’03, and Thomas Zangle ’05 won first place in the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics’ 2005 Northeastern Student Conference Team Competition for their paper, “Micro Air Vehicle Stability Investigation.” Professor Simon Shepherd advised the team.

Adjunct Professor Robert Dean and Joe Brown ’00 won the grand prize in the 2005 Start-Up New Hampshire Business Plan Competition. Their company, Nanocomp Technologies Inc., co-founded with former adjunct professor David Lashmore, develops long carbon nanotubes for structural composites and electro-energy products. Sound Innovations, a company founded by Professor Laura Ray, Adjunct Professor Robert Collier, and Christopher Pearson Tu’02, was one of 15 finalists out of more than 200 entrants.

Sean Furey ’04, Th’05 was named Men’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross-Country Coaches Association.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, faculty, projects, research, students

comments powered by Disqus