Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering


ELECTED: Professor Tillman Gerngross has been elected to The National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Cofounder of five highly successful biotechnology companies for the discovery and manufacture of biopharmaceuticals—GlycoFi (acquired by Merck), Adimab, Arsanis, Avitide, and Alector—he joins Professors Eric Fossum, Elsa Garmire, and Robert Dean as NAE fellows.

NAMED: Professor Eugene Santos Jr. has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. He was cited “for distinguished contributions to the field of information and decision sciences, particularly for computational modeling of decision-making under uncertainty with application to human behavior modeling.”

NAMED: Adjunct Professor Richard Greenwald Th’88, cofounder of Simbex and the nonprofit National Institute for Sports Science and Safety, has been named a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). His work focuses on sports injury prevention and medical devices, including technology that monitors the frequency, severity, and location of head impacts in helmeted sports. He joins engineering Professors Eric Fossum, Tillman Gerngross, Elsa Garmire, Axel Scherer, and Robert Dean as NAI fellows.

AWARDED: Professor George Cybenko, the Dorothy and Walter Gramm Professor of Engineering, received two awards in 2016: SPIE’s Eric A. Lehrfeld Award “for outstanding contributions to global homeland security” and the U.S. Air Force Commander’s Public Service Award in recognition of “service or achievements which contribute significantly to the accomplishment of the mission of an AF activity, command, or staff agency.”

AWARDED: Professor Lee Lynd, the Queneau Professor of Environmental Engineering Design, received the Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology’s 2016 Waksman Outstanding Teaching Award.

NAMED: Professor Keith Paulsen Th’84 ’86, the Robert A. Pritzker Professor of Biomedical Engineering, was named a Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA). He joins Professors Brian Pogue, Eric Fossum, and Elsa Garmire as OSA fellows.

AWARDED: Professor John Zhang received a 2016 National Institutes of Health Director’s Transformative Research Award for his work on bio-inspired nanomaterials, scale-dependent biophysics, and nanofabrication technology. The grant will fund his project, “Implantable Cardiac Power Generation Using Flexible 3D Porous Thin Films.”

AWARDED: Assistant Professor Fiona Li was selected to receive an Air Force Office of Scientific Research 2017 Young Investigator Award, given to junior faculty who show “exceptional ability and promise for conducting basic research.”

PUBLISHED: Professor Zi Chen has uncovered the role of mechanical forces in embryonic development, as he explained in a paper titled, “How the embryonic chick brain twists,” published in the Royal Society journal Interface. “The rightward torsion of the brain is one of the earliest organ-level left-right asymmetry events in development,” he writes. “Our work uncovers the role of mechanical forces in this morphogenetic process and will open new venues of research on how molecular genetics and mechanical factors cooperatively regulate morphogenesis in development.”

PUBLISHED: Professor Petra Bonfert-Taylor made a case for using instructional videos to enhance active learning in the October 31, 2016, issue of Inside Higher Ed. “Watching a video before class is an engaging and more easily digestible form of reading a chapter in a textbook before class and very beneficial to prime student learning during subsequent in-class activities,” she writes.

AWARDED: The Clare Boothe Luce Program, which encourages women to pursue science, math, and engineering, has awarded a grant to Dartmouth in support of 12 Undergraduate Research Awards at Thayer School over a three-year period.

AWARDED: Mobile Virtual Player, maker of the robotic football tackling dummy that originated as a Thayer BE student project, won the “Training the Athlete” category in the second annual 1st and Future competition, a collaboration between the NFL and the Texas Medical Center (TMC) to award startups focused on improving sports technology and athlete safety. MVP received $50,000 from the NFL to further develop the tackling dummy, which also got a plug in a Superbowl ad.

Categories: The Great Hall, Kudos

Tags: award, energy, engineering in medicine, faculty, research

comments powered by Disqus