COVID-19 Information
Dartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of EngineeringDartmouth Engineer - The Magazine of Thayer School of Engineering

Investiture: Class of 2005

For the first time, Thayer School’s Investiture, held June 11, 2005, took place in Spaulding Auditorium at the Hopkins Center, a venue large enough to accommodate record numbers of graduates and their well-wishers. With Interim Dean William Lotko presiding, 144 Thayer students received hoods, caps, awards, and an official welcome to Thayer School’s alumni/ae body, the Dartmouth Society of Engineers.

Thomas J. O'Neill.  Photograph by Mark Washburn.
Thomas J. O'Neill. Photograph by Mark Washburn.

Thayer School Overseer Thomas J. O’Neill ’73, Th’74, chairman and CEO of Parsons Brinckerhoff Inc., received the Robert Fletcher Award for distinguished achievement and service. In his Investiture speech he outlined a formula for success, which is excerpted here:

  1. In the poker game of life, your technical competence is an ante. You need a differentiator.
  2. One of the biggest differentiators is an ability to communicate.
  3. You are all broad enough and talented enough that you will lead and manage and direct. That piece of advice was first given to me by Carl Long here at Thayer School. We asked him to teach us about pre-stressed concrete. He told us, “I don’t know why you guys want to learn about that — you’ll hire people to do that for you.” We didn’t believe him at the time. Turns out he was right.
  4. Be on time.
  5. The three magic words in dealing with clients are scope, schedule, and budget. You have to manage client expectations — not necessarily lower them — and deliver a product that performs the desired functions within the time and budget available.
  6. Understand the requirements of whoever assigns work to you.
  7. Assignments often come down to who the client has the best relationship with.
  8. Personal life matters.
  9. Power comes from sharing knowledge — not hoarding it.
  10. Don’t be constrained by arbitrary rules or limits.
  11. Get a passport. China will dominate the world economy.
  12. Never give up hope.

COMMENCEMENT:  (Left to right) George Tsung, Tomasz Tsunguz-Zawislak ’04, and Rena Yotsu ’03, Th ’04 received M.E.M. degrees.  Photograph by Joseph Mehling ’69.
COMMENCEMENT: (Left to right) George Tsung, Tomasz Tsunguz-Zawislak ’04, and Rena Yotsu ’03, Th ’04 received M.E.M. degrees. Photograph by Joseph Mehling ’69.

By the Numbers: Engineering Graduates


The Dartmouth Society of Engineers Prize for outstanding B.E. project: Robert J. Conrado ’05, Linden T. Klein ’05, Reginald W. Martin ’04, and Amol B. Pinge

The Charles F. and Ruth D. Goodrich Prize for outstanding achievement: Alexander D. Streeter ’03, Th’04, ’05

The Caroline Henderson Prize for best M.E.M. project: Ryan C. Dunn ’03, Th’04, ’05

The Thayer School of Engineering Corporate Collaboration Council Engineering Design Prize for best performance in ENGS 190/290: Matthew D. Hodgson, Monica J. Thomas Th’05 and Colin T. Ulen

The Thayer School Faculty Award for Academic Excellence in B.E. coursework: Matthew P. Bell ’05 and Thomas A. Zangle ’05

The John C. Woodhouse Engineering Design Prize for cost-effective designs of experimental equipment: Heng Xu Th’05

The John C. Woodhouse Environmental Engineering Prize for outstanding work in environmental study or research: Magdalena E. Dale Th’05, Xi Nan Th’05, Ph.D. candidate Jennifer D. Pollock, and Satish Prabhakaran Th’05

The Brieanna S. Weinstein Engineering Design Prize for new technologies, systems, or devices addressing physical or developmental disabilities: Julie A. Matteini ’03 and Rena L. Yotsu ’03 for their “Switch Adapted Kid Car”

Special Faculty Award for Engineering and Service to Humanity: Dartmouth Engineers Without Borders

The Phillip R. Jackson Engineering Sciences Prize for outstanding performance in an introductory course: Monica Martin de Bustamante ’08, Ben Koons ’08, Ashley Heist ’08, Patrick Biggs ’06, and TA Gail Sweeney ’03

The George A. Colligan Memorial Prize for outstanding performance in materials science: Johnathan A. Loudis ’05

The Richard. W. Olmsted Engineering Sciences Prize for outstanding performance in the major: Julia L. Ott ’05 and Thomas A. Zangle ’05

Excellence in Teaching Award: Charles Sullivan

Outstanding Service Award for Faculty: Laura Ray

Outstanding Service Award for Staff: Joan Levy, Terry Priestley

For more photos, visit our Investiture 2005 set and Investiture collection on Flickr. Visit Thayer School's site for a list of degree recipients.

Categories: The Great Hall, Investiture

Tags: alumni, award, students

comments powered by Disqus