2017 Investiture

Thayer School of Engineering's 2017 Investiture ceremony took place Saturday, June 10. The speaker was Frances Arnold, the Dickinson Professor of Chemical Engineering, Biochemistry, and Bioengineering at the California Institute of Technology. Thayer School Investiture is part of Dartmouth's Commencement Program. Dartmouth's ceremony took place Sunday, June 11 on the Green. The speaker was CNN news anchor and political correspondent Jake Tapper ’91.

Thayer School awarded 183 degrees including 113 Bachelor of Engineering (29 of them AB/BEs), 48 Master of Engineering Management, 2 Master of Engineering, 9 Master of Science (Engineering Sciences), and 11 Doctor of Philosophy (Engineering Sciences).

Thayer Class of 2017
Thayer Class of 2017 (Download)

In addition, on Sunday, Dartmouth awarded AB degrees to 98 Engineering Sciences majors. (The most popular majors for the Class of 2017 were economics, government, computer science, engineering sciences, and history.)

Investiture Program



Recognition of 2017 Award Recipients

See academic prize/award descriptions.

Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Outstanding Service Award for Faculty

Excellence in Teaching Award

2017 Robert Fletcher Award Recipient

Student Remarks

Conferring of Hoods

Closing Remarks



The Investiture ceremony took place in Spaulding Auditorium in the Hopkins Center.

Photos and Videos

Investiture photos are available for free download (Flickr). Videos will be posted on Thayer School's YouTube channel.