COVID-19 Information

2016 Investiture

Thayer School of Engineering's 2016 Investiture ceremony took place Saturday, June 11. The speaker was Arati Prabhakar, Director of the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), member of the National Academy of Engineering, and a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Thayer School awarded 143 degrees including 83 Bachelor of Engineering degrees (22 of them AB/BEs), 37 Master of Engineering Management degrees, 1 Master of Engineering degree, 8 Master of Science degrees and 14 Doctorate degrees. In addition, on Sunday, Dartmouth awarded AB degrees to 119 Engineering Sciences majors, the largest class in the 149 year history of engineering at Dartmouth. Over 50% of these AB recipients were women, marking the first time a US national research university graduated an engineering class that was majority female.

Thayer Class of 2016

Thayer School Investiture is part of Dartmouth's Commencement Program. Dartmouth's ceremony took place Sunday, June 12 on the Green.

Investiture Program



2016 Robert Fletcher Award Recipient

Student Speaker

Recognition of 2016 Award Recipients

Excellence in Teaching Award

Outstanding Service Award for Faculty

Outstanding Service Award for Staff

Conferring of Hoods

Closing Remarks



The Investiture ceremony takes place in Spaulding Auditorium in the Hopkins Center.

Photos and Videos

Investiture photos are available for free download from Thayer School's Flickr site. Videos are posted on Thayer School's YouTube channel.