Instructional Labs & Workshops

The instructional labs and workshops, and their staff, support Thayer's laboratory- and project-based curriculum. The goal is to expose students to hands-on experiences and open-ended, real-world engineering projects, as well as provide support for faculty and students involved in designing and fabrication projects for research.

Staff

Christopher Levey, Director of Instructional Labs 
christopher.g.levey@dartmouth.edu

Lab Instructors

Bob Barry (analog electronics, controls and signal conditioning)
robert.l.barry@dartmouth.edu

Mary Kay Brown (biotechnology and chemical engineering)
mary.kay.brown@dartmouth.edu

Daniel Cullen (materials and projects)
daniel.c.cullen@dartmouth.edu

Dave Picard (digital electronics and systems)
david.picard@dartmouth.edu

Raina White (systems and fluids)
raina.r.white@dartmouth.edu

Machine Shop Instructors

Kevin Baron, Machine Shop Planning Manager and Technical Instructor
kevin.r.baron@dartmouth.edu

Lee Schuette, Machine Shop Operations Manager and Technical Instructor
lee.a.schuette@dartmouth.edu

Jason Downs, Technical Instructor
jason.c.downs@dartmouth.edu

Labs & Workshops

Allyn Large-Frame Project Workshop
+1 (603) 646-4001
MacLean 030

Students at work in Couch Lab
Couch Project Design Lab

Biotech Instructional Lab (Brown)
+1 (603) 646-1467
Cummings 124

CAD Lab
+1 (603) 646-6542
Cummings 013

Computer Instruction Lab
+1 (603) 646-8905
MacLean 210

Couch Project Design Lab (Cullen)
+1 (603) 646-2608
MacLean 009/014

Dark Room & X-Ray Lab
MacLean B29

Electronics/Instrument Workshop ("Instrument Room")
+1 (603) 646-2793
MacLean 025

Electronics Project Lab (Picard)
+1 (603) 646-8942
Cummings 011

Engineering System Instructional Lab I (Barry)
+1 (603) 646-4069
Cummings 221

Engineering Systems Instructional Lab II (Barry)
+1 (603) 646-4070
Cummings 222

EZ Fab Lab (Baron)
+1 (603) 646-3261
Cummings 025c

Fahey Advanced Design Lab (Levey)
+1 (603) 646-9614
MacLean 003

Fluid Energy Lab
+1 (603) 646-6943
Cummings 027

Fluids Instruction Lab (White)
+1 (603) 646-1468
Cummings 003

High Vent/Paint Lab (Cullen)
MacLean 018

Machine Shop (website)
+1 (603) 646-3261
Cummings 026

Maker/Machine Shop (Baron, website)
+1 (603) 646-3096
Cummings 025

Materials Processing Lab (Cullen)
+1 (603) 646-6541
MacLean 026

Mechanical Testing Lab (Cullen)
+1 (603) 646-9687
MacLean B28

Microscopy Lab (Cullen)
+1 (603) 646-9320
MacLean 028

Rapid Prototyping/3D Printing (Baron)
+1 (603) 646-9014
Cummings 025

X-Ray Diffractometer Lab (Cullen)
+1 (603) 646-3863
MacLean 016