Plasma Seminar Winter Term 2002
              


Plasma Seminar Series -- Winter Term 2002

Date Speaker Affiliation Title (click for abstract)
01/08 Dr. Richard Wolfson
wolfson@middlebury.edu
Middlebury College,
Department of Physics
Coronal Mass Ejections: The Calm Before the Storm
01/15 Brian Kress
brian.kress@dartmouth.edu
Dartmouth College,
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Two-Dimensional Channel Flow Simulations
01/22 Dr. Richard Denton
richard.denton@dartmouth.edu
Dartmouth College,
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Modes of the Magnetosphere: Toroidal, Poloidal, and Compressional
01/29 Dr. George Siscoe
siscoe@bu.edu
Boston University,
Center for Space Physics
Limits on Transpolar Versus Reconnection Potentials: The Unknown Magnetosphere
02/05
02/12 Dr. Richard Ellis
rfellis@glue.umd.edu
University of Maryland,
Institute for Electronics and Applied Physics
MCX Fusion Device
02/19 Dr. Kile Baker
kbaker@nsf.gov
National Science Foundation,
Magnetospheric Physics Program Director
A Simple Parameterization of the High Latitude Ionospheric Convection Pattern for use in Space Weather Metrics Patterns
02/26 Dr. William Lotko
william.lotko@dartmouth.edu
Dartmouth College,
Thayer School of Engineering
Observatory for Heteroscale Magnetosphere-Ionosphere Coupling
03/05 Dr. David C. Montgomery
david.montgomery@dartmouth.edu
Dartmouth College,
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Where Do Large-Scale, Spontaneously-Appearing Magnetic Fields Come From?




For more information or to suggest a future speaker, please contact the seminar organizer: Simon Shepherd

Last Updated: Fri Feb 1 10:03:01 EST 2002


Possible Speakers

Status Speaker Affiliation Topic
??? Dr. Robert Lysak
bob@aurora.spa.umn.edu
University of Minnesota,
School of Physics and Astronomy
??? Dr. Thomas Sotirelis
thomas.sotirelis@jhuapl.edu
The Johns Hopkins University
Applied Physics Laboratory
Auroral and Polar Cap Boundaries Using Polar UVI and SuperDARN