ENGS 41 Sustainability and Natural Resource Management

Schedule for Spring 2012

 

Class Meetings

Room 202 Cummings (Thayer School)

Monday-Wednesday-Friday 11:15 - 12:20

X-hour: Tuesday 12:00 - 12:50

 

Week 1

Monday 26 March

Introduction to course

Preface Section 1.1.1

 

Tuesday 27 March (X-hour)

No activity

 

Wednesday 28 March

Remainder of Section 1.1

 

Friday 30 March

Section 1.3

Homework #1 assigned

Week 2

Monday 2 April

Chapter 1 End

 

Tuesday 3 April (X-hour)

Chapter 2 Biological aspects

 

Wednesday 4 April

Chapter 2 Harvesting aspects

 

Friday 6 April

No class Religious holiday for instructor

Homework #1 due Homework #2 assigned

Week 3

Monday 9 April

Chapter 2 Economic aspects

 

Tuesday 10 April (X-hour)

Optional: Math tutorial

 

Wednesday 11 April

Chapter 3 Stage modeling, modes

 

Friday 13 April

Chapter 3 Part 2

Homework #2 due Homework #3 assigned

Week 4

Monday 16 April

Chapter 3 Part 3

 

Tuesday 17 April (X-hour)

No activity

 

Wednesday 18 April

Chapter 4 Cohort modeling

 

Friday 20 April

Chapter 4 Harvesting aspects

Homework #3 due

Week 5

Monday 23 April

Guest lecture by Jim Hourdequin 97

Sustainable Timberland Management

 

Tuesday 24 April (X-hour)

No activity

 

Wednesday 25 April

Chapter 4 Economic aspects

 

Friday 27 April

In-class Mid-Term Exam

Homework #4 assigned

Week 6

Monday 30 April

Chapter 3 Separate cohorts

 

Tuesday 1 May (X-hour)

No activity

 

Wednesday 2 May

Chapter 5 Part 1

 

Friday 4 May

Chapter 5 Part 2

Homework #4 due Homework #5 assigned

Week 7

Monday 7 May

Chapter 5 Part 3

 

Tuesday 8 May (X-hour)

No activity

 

Wednesday 9 May

Chapter 5 Part 4

 

Friday 11 May

Chapter 5 Part 5

Homework #5 due Homework #6 assigned

Week 8

Monday 14 May

Chapter 5 Part 6

 

Tuesday 15 May (X-hour)

No activity

 

Wednesday 16 May

Chapter 5 Part 7

 

Friday 18 May

No class Professor away

Homework #6 due Homework #7 assigned

Week 9

Monday 21 May

Chapter 6 Part 1

 

Tuesday 22 May (X-hour)

No activity

 

Wednesday 23 May

Chapter 6 Part 2

 

Friday 25 May

Chapter 6 Part 3

Homework #7 due

Week 10

Monday 28 May

No class Memorial Day

 

Tuesday 29 May (X-hour)

Guest lecture by Chris Soderquist

Regional Emissions Reduction Plans

 

Wednesday 30 May

Chapter 6 Part 4

(last day of classes)

 

Friday 1 June

Take-home Final Exam assigned at 10am

Week 11

Monday 4 June

Take-home Final Exam due at 5pm